Humans of Emory Podcast Proposal

Podcast Proposal

ABSTRACT: In this podcast, I would like to focus on the stories of the Humans of Emory. No matter how privileged or underprivileged—everyone has a story to share. Some problems seem more trivial than others, but everyone is affected by something regardless. This podcast acts as a platform for anyone to share their thoughts and feelings on the current state of the world, the current state of themselves, or the current state of Emory. Multiple issues will be addressed due to the diverse nature of this University. I would like to begin with my own story because I want this to feel as genuine as possible.

SCRIPT (EPISODE 1)

Humans of Emory is a podcast that is designed to give a platform to those who would like to share their stories (however silly or serious) because everyone wants to be listened to in some form or another.

I’ll begin by telling you my story.

I am currently fighting a battle. Not a physical battle or a health battle, but an internal one. Every day I get out of bed and just long for the day to be over. I used to think this was a normal thing that every college student felt (and in some ways, it is) but I realized that I never used to feel this way.

To me, college seems entirely unnecessary. It is simply a stepping stone to get to where I need to be in the future. I don’t believe that I am profoundly learning or preparing myself for my job because that comes with work experience. This thought logically makes sense, however, I often wonder why I feel this way. I am so lucky to have parents that want to invest in my education and send me to an amazing school with plenty of resources. So why does it feel like none of it matters? Why does it feel like all I’m doing is going through the motions?

I realized this past week that I am depressed, which is not uncommon for someone my age in college. I never wanted to admit this to myself in fear that I would be labeled as “sick” or be put on drugs that make me a zombie. But, the more I thought about it the more that I knew that I had to talk to someone. I no longer wanted to feel like everything I did was a chore. I didn’t want to dread waking up in the morning. I don’t even remember what it feels like to be truly happy anymore.

Heavy stuff, right? You would think that someone who constantly felt this way would be boring or a “Debbie Downer.” On the contrary, I’m one of those people that always seems to be cracking a joke or making people laugh. That part of me has stayed my entire life, even through my mental health struggles. If you ask any of my friends, not one of them would suspect that feel depressed or even sad.

I honestly think that it’s going to stay that way, too. The only way I actually express my true feelings is when I can’t keep them in any longer, and normally, I’m on the phone with my parents or by myself.

The point of me telling you this is, don’t be afraid to at least admit to yourself when you feel like there is something wrong. And sometimes all you need is a highly personal, impersonal podcast to vent your feelings to people you don’t even know.

Leave a comment